Author Topic: Circuit breaker AD 2008-13-17  (Read 5154 times)

Don Lawton

  • ABS Member
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 212
Circuit breaker AD 2008-13-17
« on: July 14, 2008, 12:27:00 AM »
Does anyone have the amp-ratings on the various Beech circuit breaker P/Ns? In order to replace the units (with other than $$$ RAPID parts), we have to know the amperage.

I'd prefer not to have to remove the C/Bs to read the data, then wait to order and have replacements shipped.

-> Don


ABS Bot

  • ABS Staff
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 149
Circuit breaker AD 2008-13-17
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2008, 01:41:00 PM »
From:  W Powell  

Date:  Monday, July 14, 2008 09:41 PM  

For my Beech original breakers, the amperage is stamped in the tip of the switch handle right up front where you can see it. Both landing lights (top and bottom) are 20A breakers. 69 V35A (outside the recent AD issuance.)


Don Lawton

  • ABS Member
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 212
Circuit breaker AD 2008-13-17
« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2008, 10:55:10 PM »
All the TSCBs in my airplane (1991 F33A) are un-marked on the end of the toggle. I was able to find the information in the Wiring Diagram manual.

FWIW, here's the information I have:

Alternator                  35-380132-13  10A  blue toggle

Pitot heat                  35-380132-3   10A  gold toggle

Strobe                      35-380132-43  10A  silver toggle

Beacon                      35-380132-43  10A  silver toggle

Nav light                   35-380132-41   5A  silver toggle

Taxi light                  35-380132-43  10A  silver toggle

Landing light               35-380132-43  10A  silver toggle

Standby instrument pressure 35-380132-39  30A  black toggle *

* I have not visually confirmed the P/N of the last one as it's going to be a b**** to get to. Will probably have to remove the kidney panel in the firewall.

Bob Ripley

  • ABS Technical Advisor
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 168
Circuit breaker AD 2008-13-17
« Reply #3 on: August 01, 2008, 12:29:31 AM »
You cannot use any other CB than the specified Beech P/N due to the AD note ststes the Beech part number is the only replacement. I checked with Tyco who maked Potter Brumfield CB's and Beech is the only supplier of the new part number.

Don Lawton

  • ABS Member
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 212
Circuit breaker AD 2008-13-17
« Reply #4 on: August 02, 2008, 12:44:25 PM »
Bob, as the AD is written, that's correct. However, if one was to replace the TSCBs prior to the effective date of the AD, some A&Ps are of the opinion that an "equivalent electrical part" could be used. YMMV...

Heino Moeller

  • ABS Member
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 3
Circuit breaker AD 2008-13-17
« Reply #5 on: August 05, 2008, 01:50:57 PM »
So what's the deal - have to purchase from Beech - can't use breakers of equal amperage & function from a different manufacturer ???

Heino

Don Lawton

  • ABS Member
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 212
Circuit breaker AD 2008-13-17
« Reply #6 on: August 05, 2008, 11:16:18 PM »
 
Quote from: Heino Moeller
So what's the deal - have to purchase from Beech - can't use breakers of equal amperage & function from a different manufacturer ???

Heino



Heino,

Tyco is the manufacturer of the original and new Beech parts. Those parts are not available from any source other than Beech/RAPID. Tyco also manufactures a similar series of breakers (W31-X2M1G-xx). Those are available from Aircraft Spruce, Newark, Mouser and others. The difference in price is $105 compared to ~$25 for the W31-series TSCBs.

The "story" is that the only difference between the new Beech parts and the other Tyco line is the color and shape of the visible toggle. (e.g., blue - power, gold - heat, silver - lights.)

One theory floating around is one could change out the TSCBs prior to complying with the AD. Afterwards, the AD compliance could be signed off as "N/A - affected part numbers not installed."

An interesting website, and more information, here:

http://www.geocities.com/semco_inc/aviation-pdfs/#CircuitBreakerAD

Mike French

  • ABS Member
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 5
Circuit breaker AD 2008-13-17
« Reply #7 on: November 07, 2008, 09:44:02 AM »
My V35B in in for an annual and the toggle switch for the nav lights is inop. I'm being told that the replacement switch required by the AD is NOT yet available from Beech (the sole supplier) and that under the AD no other switch can be installed. Has anyone encountered this? I may be limited to day VFR until this damn switch is available, which apparently could be a couple of months.

Mike

Mike Thompson

  • ABS Member
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 102
Circuit breaker AD 2008-13-17
« Reply #8 on: November 08, 2008, 04:00:34 AM »
Mike;

AD 2008-13-17 does allow for an alternate means of compliance.  Basically, you apply for using a different CB Switch.  This applicatrion, with loads of supporting data, should be processed through your local FSDO to the Manager of the Wichita Aircraft Certification Office.

Don't have your hope too high, they may or may not approve it.  On your side, however, is not making the issue of parts cost, rather the fact your Bo is relegated to Day VFR.

Tom Turner

  • ABS Member
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 900
Circuit breaker AD 2008-13-17
« Reply #9 on: November 10, 2008, 02:40:37 AM »
There is a difference in the Beech and non-Beech circuit breakers.  See http://bonanza.org/documents/2008.0821.CB AD update.pdf.  

ABS has asked FAA to reconsider our comments to the NPRM, but we have not yet heard a reply.  Watch ABS NEWS at the lower left of bonanza.org for updates as/if they become available.

Thomas P. Turner

Manager of Technical Services

Steve Hill

  • ABS Member
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 6
Circuit breaker AD 2008-13-17
« Reply #10 on: March 05, 2009, 08:39:31 AM »
Get ready for some fun. I spent most of today on my head with a light and mirrow searching for all the part numbers for circuit breakers that need to be replaced. After looking in the plane, searching the wiring diagrams in the maintance manuels and calling Beech two times I finally came up with my list. I have an A36 Bonanza and a B58 Baron.The A36 required 12 switches and the Baron requires 14 switches. The cost from Beech is around $100/switch and you can't get them anywhere else. Shipping will be in about 60 to 90 days depending on the switch.

The A36 switches will be a much easier job to replace as all you have are top row and bottow row switches. The top switches will require you to remove a couple on the 3 & 1/2" instrument immediately above the switches; find a friend with small hands. The bottom row of switches will come out from under the panel.

On the Baron we have a middle row of switches which will be much more difficult to remove and replace. We will have to go either out the top (instrument holes) or bottom after the switches above and below are removed.

Steve Hill

Mike Thompson

  • ABS Member
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 102
Circuit breaker AD 2008-13-17
« Reply #11 on: March 07, 2009, 06:25:15 AM »
Having changed these before, my advice is to remove the floating panel.  I did the first one (through my shop) through instrument holes and it was not user friendly.

Wayne Powell

  • ABS Member
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 50
Circuit breaker AD 2008-13-17
« Reply #12 on: May 17, 2009, 12:36:57 AM »
Our aircraft is not in the affected range for this AD (1969 V35A).  I therefore assume our breakers are different than the newer models, but I am not sure how different.  Some of ours have been replaced over the years with newer units (different handle tips)

Is there a way to check individual breakers for the AD even though the aircraft is not named in the AD?

Hope I'm not opening a can of worms here....

Brian Conley

  • ABS Member
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 264
Circuit breaker AD 2008-13-17
« Reply #13 on: May 18, 2009, 12:56:00 AM »
There is a very good article on the opening page to ABS web site on how to identify the breakers...

Wayne Powell

  • ABS Member
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 50
Circuit breaker AD 2008-13-17
« Reply #14 on: May 18, 2009, 11:59:19 AM »
Thanks for the reference.  In re-reading the AD, it indicates that only the specified aircraft serial numbers have to change the named breakers.  Technically this means that if I find one on my V35A, I am not required to change it.  Not sure if this is wise given the failure mode, but what about all those other aircraft flying around with the "generic" equivalent breaker (Tyco type sold by Spruce) with the same spring problem.

Just trying to understand why every plane on the planet with the same style spring breaker is not referenced in the AD.  Seems that a more appropriate AD would have been against the switch, not the planes.