Author Topic: Cam pitting help  (Read 1037 times)

Clark J McKenna

• ABS Member
Cam pitting help
« on: May 06, 2012, 10:26:35 AM »
Hello,  I am new to ABS.  My father had a Bonanza when I was younger and I have always wanted one.  He passed years ago.  Yesterday my A&P did a prebuy on a J35 and found pitting on the cam and told me it is a "deal breaker".  The owner of the plane sent me the email below last night.  All advice it appreciated.

"Good to meet you as well...!  As you continue your flying career you will gain knowledge on aircraft engines and be able to make your own determination on conditions of the engine and rightly so for you will not have an A&P at your side.  After all, you are the one that will be responsible for the engine condition to assure saferty on each flight.  Knowing your engine and aircraft is No. 1 to assure safety to you, your aircraft and passengers. But I am certain you already know that. 

I was very disappointed with and certainly not prepared to discuss lifter condition with your A&P... Nor was I aware of any problems associated with the lifters to offer an intelligent response.  I can however, assure you that I am always vigilant to keep up with any signs of problems with all my aircraft/engines and will have AeroEngines inspect the cams and lifters of as soon as possible.

I would like to share some information regarding acceptable lifter/cam condition for Continental Engines for your future use by suggesting you look at the Teledyne Bulletin SID 05-1.  I pulled this up after returning home yesterday due to my concern prompted by your mechanic.  In reviewing this bulletin I came to the conclusion that my J-35 engine is in acceptable limits.  There were no lines of fissues as shown in the bulletin...only a few specks outside the contact area where the lifters ride which is NORMAL....  enough said!

I have been very open, honest and fair. This should have been evident from my placing tabs in the logbooks in areas of importance...